Books that had an impact on my life

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.”

– The Infernal Devices, Cassandra Clare

When you surround yourself with books and words, you’ll find out that they are more than just stories about fictional characters with fictional stories. You’ll find out how often you can actually relate to a character, to an event, to the plot. And it will influence you. No matter if it happens consciously or not. It happens. And that is all that matters.

There were many books that had an impact on my life and I. No matter if it was the book itself, a character or only a quote from it.

Looking For Alaska by John Green

img_9152

my three copies of LFA, one of them is actually ripped because my boyfriend made me roses out of my book. (They’re in the jar)

I wouldn’t probably love this book if I had read it this year. The story is simple, but nothing I could relate to today. But when I had read it, I was sixteen, and I needed such a book. I needed characters who were adorable, serious and who were capable of having deep conversations. I needed proof, I needed something to hold on. I had a hard time back then, not knowing who I am, not knowing if my life should go on like it was, not knowing what my life was about. Looking For Alaska has changed a lot about how I viewed life in general. A lot of people (taken this from several reviews I’ve read) found the female protagonist Alaska annoying, the plot not really interesting. But to me, back then, it was everything. I was nothing like Alaska – or at least that’s what I thought, friends have told me the opposite – and I related to her in so many ways. This book will stay in my heart forever. It was there for me in the right time, and I started to appreciate life and to look at things differently, to do my thing, to stop focusing on others. Some advice that is very valuable. Especially to 16-years-old me.

When adults say, “Teenagers think they are invincible” with that sly, stupid smile on their faces, they don’t know how right they are. We need never be hopeless, because we can never be irreparably broken. We think that we are invincible because we are. We cannot be born, and we cannot die. Like all energy, we can only change shapes and sizes and manifestations. They forget that when they get old. They get scared of losing and failing. But that part of us greater than the sum of our parts cannot begin and cannot end, and so it cannot fail.”

– Looking For Alaska, John Green

I don’t think anything can be added to this. Every teen should read this, every teen should feel invincible. Because everyone is.

Shatter Me Trilogy by Tahereh Mafi

img_9157

German copies of Shatter Me.

If this book has taught me one thing, then it was to screw on rules and to write how I wanted to drive. I am an admirer of unique writing styles and if I’m allowed to say so myself, I do write quite differently from what people are expecting (I mostly write my stories/novels in german). Mafi’s writing style is the most beautiful I have ever seen and it is so different from whatever else I’ve read. It encouraged me a lot to stop listening to people about how to write and just to write what I feel. 

I spent my life folded between the pages of books

– Shatter Me, Tahereh Mafi

This is a quote I hold very close to my heart. I have used books for escape, for comfort. Books helped me heal, helped me grow, helped me become. I will never regret spending my life between the pages of books. Never.

The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

img_9160

German copies of The Infernal Devices. Graphic novels of th ebooks. A christmas ornament which reminded me of Tessa, the protaginist of the books.

These books are so dear to my heart. The world setting, the characters, the plot. I had my fangirl moments. Like the first real fangirl moments. It wasn’t only a feeling, I realized for the first time what feels were. And I knew from that moment that words do have the power to change us, to change how we see things, to change our lives. And thankfully I’ve read Clare’s work because that brought me back to reading, and introduced me to Bookstagram, Booktube, Bookblogging. Oh…. and with her books, my very unhealthy obsession of book collecting has started. Thank you, Cassandra Clare.

We live and breathe words.

– The Infernal Devices, Cassandra Clare

One of my favorite quotes. It is so simple but helds so much truth. We do live words. We do breathe words. And words have the biggest impact on everyone. No matter if you’re a reader or not.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

img_9163

German copies of the books, except for the novella collection ‘Four’.

I don’t know what exactly has happened to the fan community of this trilogy, I just felt recently that they receive more negativity. Which I don’t get, but opinions are opinions. Here is mine.

Divergent was the first (!!!) book I’ve read in one sitting. I only took a break to go to the toilet (and when my mother forced me to come eat lunch…). It was that good. And I would love to reread it one day. However, that is not the reason why I chose that this series should be on the list. Even though, the first installement of the Divergent Trilogy is my favorite, it was the last book that changed something inside me.

I suppose a fire that burns that bright is not meant to last.

– Allegiant, Veronica Roth

In the last book, basically in the last 50 pages, a lot happens. And the book ends. With a character less. Which is basically nothing I’m not used to. But back then it was a shock. Because I wasn’t expecting to ever lose a main character. Roth was the first author that had hit me hard with such feels.

SPOILER WARNING FOR THE LAST BOOK ALLEGIANT! (Don’t read italic part)

When Tris died, I couldn’t believe what has happened. I hated it, I hated how it ended, how someone could actually kill of the protagonist. But then, I read this quote. “I suppose a fire that burns that bright is not meant to last.” And then I read it again. Over and over again. Until I realized the meaning of it. Tris was the brightest flame I have seen. She was brave, selfless, strong, intelligent, and she did everything to save the ones she loved. Even if they haven’t deserved it. (Have someone in mind? *cough* Caleb *cough*)

I guess, there couldn’t have been a better ending for this series. That person’s death was the conclusion to a story that held much more than just a dystopian world rich of action. It had so much more details, lessons for life. And getting that. Mentioning that. Thinking of that. I guess you’ll see the meaning of everything. This book has taught me the meaning of sacrifice, true loving and especially of using that flame of yours as long as it burns. Because one day it will extinguish.

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

img_9168

The Lunar Chronicles, including my drawings. #ACEDIMSKIART

This series is mostly the reason why I’m back. Back to blogging, back to Bookstagramming, back to talking about books with people. I had a huge reading slump. (Seriously it lasted 1.5 year) And somehow I picked up Cinder the first book, and it didn’t get me hooked at first, but that was okay because back then I took my time reading. Until I hit the point where everything has changed. I have binge-read the whole series. Loving every single character, loving how Meyer has spinned the fairytale aspect, loving the plot, loving the world, loving the relationships. I started to write. And I started to draw again. Something I lost interest in as well. Two things that were constant partners in my life – drawing and reading – lost, and then found by one series. I have drawn Cinder and Kai, Scarlett and Wolf, Cress and Thorne (still need to make a Winter + Jacin one! oops) and a drawing including the whole Rampion Crew. And Marissa Meyer replied to my posts on Twitter. And I realized then, how happy I used to be to draw bookish scenes, characters, etc. And how happy I was to share those feels with other people. And I logged myself into my old instagram account. Drawingandreading. And started posting again. Setting up a whole new thing. And now I call this place my virtual home.

Maybe there isn’t such a thing as fate. Maybe it’s just the opportunities we’re given, and what we do with them.

– Cress, Marissa Meyer

A Court Of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas

img_9175

my copies of my favorite series. One includes a stamp of SJM. Drawings are done by me. #ACEDIMSKIART

Especially the second installment, A Court Of Mist And Fury. 
I came late to the ACOMAF party (I come late to almost everything), but when I joined nothing could hold my fangirling back. Nothing. The last time I read books that have crushed my soul was years ago (The Infernal Devices, Shatter Me, etc.) And getting back to these feels, to that moment, to that joy, to that excitement. It was a salvation. (Seen what I did there?)

To the people who look at the stars and wish, Rhys.”
Rhys clinked his glass against mine. “To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.”

– A Court Of Mist and Fury, Sarah J. Maas

I still don’t have the words to describe what I feel inside. But if you follow me on Instagram, you might see how often I post about this series. How I hype these books. They are everything. I’ve looked for new books, to become my favorite, to crush my soul, to change something, and found them. With this story.  When finishing this series, I felt how I wasn’t capable of saying good-bye, of letting go. I found friends. Inside of the books, and outside of them. Thanks to the books. They have changed the game. I can now call people I hadn’t known before my family, I can hold onto fictional characters again. And I have never drawn as much as I do now. Trying to be mended.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

That was my part.

Now tell me what books have changed you? What quotes do you hold dear to your heart? What characters are always with you?

Love,
Aleksandra

Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr 

Leave a Reply

